Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Colquitt County Teacher Recognized

2010 Georgia Teacher of the Year

Gwen Desselle was named 2010 Georgia Teacher of the Year at an event held at the Georgia Aquarium on May 15, 2009. Mrs. Desselle is a high school social studies teacher from Colquitt County and a 32-year veteran educator. Her duties during her term will include speaking to the public about the teaching profession, conducting workshops and programs for educators, and serving as an advisor to Superintendent Cox and the Georgia Department of Education.

The Teacher of the Year Award is a competitive process that begins at the level of the individual school and moves to the district then state competition. Nominees are observed in their classroom as part of the application process. The state winner is eligible to compete at the national level.

2010 Georgia Teacher of the Year Finalists

Tiffany Todd, Southeast Bulloch High School, Bulloch County
Dr. Mark Lang, Camden Middle School, Camden County
Michelle Rigsby, BelAir Elementary School, Columbia County
Suzy Besson-Martilotta, Chattahoochee Elementary School
Merrill Boynton-Cheyne, Harris County Carver Middle School, Harris County
Sandy Akin, East Jackson Comprehensive High School, Jackson County
Krista Pearson, Lowndes High School, Lowndes County
Kathie Wood, Marietta Middle School, Marietta City
Jennifer Beckum Irvin, Toombs County High School

Visit the Georgia Department of Education website for the Office of Communications to view more information about Gwen Desselle and Georgia's Teacher of the Year Program.

No comments: